Friday, May 28, 2010

Stand Up

So I love doing Improv that is a given, but one thing I always have wanted to do is Stand up. I think it's so funny, and lately I've had a lot of people start telling me how funny I am. Like Charlie Brown, he's been doing Improv longer then I am and he finds me quite funny. Then what is fantastic is being an Antic I've gotten to know some people out there in the funny community of Improv and Stand-up. In fact I met last weekend with stand up comedian Collin Williams who gave me so many tips on how to get started and things to stay away from and a lot of good technical stuff. He's AWESOME! So since then I've been trying to write as much as I can. Just anything I think is funny. So far my best jokes are extremely geeky. For example...I grew up watching both Star Trek and Star Wars...I guess people would call me Bi-Starsual, but like a lot of Bi-starsuals I have a preference...mine happens to be Star Wars, but I won't say no to a little Star Trek every now and then. See what I mean, pretty geeky. Or my Sith Lord jokes, how I am a Sith Lord or wish I was one, I need to figure out a transition on those but I'm a fan of them. Then I think my best joke involves Hershey's chocolate kisses and Naked Smoothies...I'm sure you can see where I'm going with that. The tough place is finding a place to get started. I mean I doubt I'll have a very funny first show, well actually second I did have to do some stand up in my intermediate theatre but I doubt I was that extremely funny, I mean I got a few laughs when I said the word "Boner" but I think those would be more cheap laughs. But I do have a good deal of connections and a good number of people do find me amusing so hopefully this will be my start to getting my foot in the door. Wish me luck!

Tuesday, May 11, 2010

My Men.

So for as long as I can remember I've always been boy crazy, go figure. Even when I was little I was always talking about who I would marry and I was constantly falling in love with other little boys running around the playground. None of them could hold a flame to my one and true love. Han Solo. I remember when I first discovered my feelings for him. My dad was sitting in our basement watching movies like he usually did late afternoons and I wandered in like I usually did and started watching with him. This fortunate day he was watching Star Wars, and as I sat down and then I saw him, Han Solo, he was so handsome and charming, my little boy crazy 7 year old self was smitten, next thing I know I was walking up to my mom and telling her as she folded laundry. "Mom I'm in love, with...what's his name in that movie?..." She just smiled and said "Han Solo?" "Yeah that's him, he's so cute and funny and I love that part where he's shooting things" Well after that I was hooked, I would copy pictures of him out of star wars books I'd get my hands on. I'd watch the movies when I could. I was ever so jealous of princess Leia. In fact I hated her, but if I ever played star wars I would always be her, it was an interesting Love Hate relationship I had with Princess Leia. Well my Han Solo phase lasted till probably 3rd grade, then I again was watching movies with my dad, and the movie I walked in on was Indiana Jones. To my young little mind he seemed so familiar but so much more attractive. That instant my heart melted for Indiana Jones, I thought he was beautiful and so daring and clever, I was in love. I then became very jealous of all the beautiful women that followed him around, and I hated the brunette in the first movie...and I guess 4th now...what was her name, I still don't like her much...it always bothered me how much trouble she got my lover in, still ticks me off when she hits him in the head with a mirror, but I do like the kissing idea that happened right after, but I was never a fan of her. ***SPOILER ALERT***It also really bothered me that Indian Jones married her in the 4th one, I mean really Indiana Jones is a Lone Wolf finding beautiful women along the way and being a sexy and passionate lover but his life is a life of danger and he doesn't need stupid women getting in his way, unless that stupid women was me but guess what I wouldn't be stupid and get him all hurt and punched in the face, that's not how I roll. Well anyway I was in love with Indiana Jones, in fact I still believe the best remedy for a bad day is curling up in a blanket with some ice cream and putting on some Indiana Jones, usually the Last Crusade if it's a very bad day, I like that one the most. Well I was in love with Indiana Jones for quite awhile, I think it wasn't until 5th grade when I learned that Harrison Ford was the actor that played both characters, so of course I did the logical thing and became madly and deeply in love with Harrison Ford. I heard stories of him rescuing lost hikers in the mountains and I would dream of getting lost and then being rescued and he'd fall for me and we'd fly away and live happily ever after. So I liked Harrison Ford for a bit and then for some reason that escapes my mind when I was in 6th grade I fell head over heels for Aaron Carter. I was so smitten with him, and had devised some master plan to win his heart by going to his concert getting backstage passes, then we'd hang out and he'd be so smitten with me and we'd run away together and have gorgeous blond children. But I look back and Aaron means nothing to me, I honestly don't know what I was thinking, I mean now he's just plain ol' ugly as he got older, and I don't think his music is all that great, and I guess he was cute when he was younger but...really Harrison Ford still has it, I see him even as he's a bit older and I think to myself there is a Handsome guy, and honestly if Harrison Ford ever showed up on my doorstep and wanted to date me and take me out and maybe even date me I wouldn't be opposed even considering his age, yeah I know I'm a weirdo but that's just me. So anyway Junior high came around and I decided that celebrities even as much as we would all like to date them, it will never happen unless by some chance I became famous, but what are the chances of that. So I turned my sights to boys that I actually knew. My first hardcore legit non-celeb crush would be Michael Johnson, he was my forth grade boyfriend, then we were best friends in Junior high, but high school he got a bunch of leads in the plays and I found myself not being as cool to hang out with so he was gone, but I think he just came out of the closet, but he's actually my only official boyfriend, and can I even count it because it was forth grade, I wrote him a note and he checked yes, then I made him a stupid headband thing and when we broke up he tore it up in front of me and made me cry. He was kinda a jerk now that I think about it, but I liked him a lot for a while and he was my first real crush. We had fun for a while I suppose, and I don't have that bad of taste, I mean he's not hideous. Next real crush though was Skeeter Olson, man he's one of those people you look back on and say to yourself WHAT WAS I THINKING?! I mean he was nice and funny and he's not a bad guy, but I thought he was so good looking...and I don't know why, also he was just weird, I mean not like funny weird like I get sometimes, he was just strange, and he was a cowboy hick and looked terrible with short buzzed hair and his wrangler jeans looked to tight all the time and well I don't know what I was thinking, I think I just wanted someone to swoop me up put me on a horse and ride me into the sunset and he seemed like the person to do it. So I had a crush on this kid all through Junior High, and he was 3 years older then me so he was in High School and I realistically didn't stand a chance, but I was stupid anyway. So anyway I went to this dance thing and he happened to be there, and he also knew that I liked him so he decided he would play with my heart a bit and he asked me to dance like the whole night and I was so twitterpated and nervous I was shaking all over, and I was as red as a tomato and it was just pathetic beyond all belief, but then I let myself think that he liked me and that finally he was realizing how amazing I was and we'd be together and ride away into the sunset and come to find out he was just messing with me, and leading me on just for kicks and giggles so he could have fun playing with me and then destroy me later. I don't mind now, he's married now and doesn't have much going for him, like all they have is his truck and really did I want to end up some hick wife living out of a pick up truck...nope not for me, so in the end I would like to just thank him for being a true douche bag. Thank you, Thank you Thank you. Well after Skeeter I found Steve. Steve is a great guy, he just had lots of issues, but I met him in theatre didn't expect to have anything extraordinary happen but then I saw him at lunch one day and my heart melted and I found myself chasing him like I was a hungry lion and he was fresh meat, of course this scared him. He avoided me at school as much as he could. But I got his email address and tried staying in touch with him, he was polite but we never got super close, until his girlfriend dumped him and all his friends sided with her and told him he was being melodramatic, which he was, and then I pitied him and BAM! We're best friends. But I still was quite smitten with him, well a year later we end up at the drive inn theatre and my head found his shoulder and his arm eventually wrapped around me and for the first time I was cuddling with a boy. This was my Junior year of high school and I was thrilled. He smelt good too, like laundry detergent and deodorant. We had a lot of fun, he'd come over to my house a good deal and we'd go swimming or cuddle on my bed and watch movies. My only complaint we were together for 8 months and he never once asked me to be his official girlfriend, and he never kissed me. Seriously who can go 8 months without kissing, he said it was because he was saving his first kiss for his future wife, but then he made out with his less then worthy girlfriend that he found 2 weeks after dumping me, so that's my only complaint, he's still awesome and actually one of my best friends. After that I had a few flings, there was Zane he was really hot, one of wills friends from work, he liked me and so he came up for Halloween and we held hands and cuddled during scary movies, I'd like to believe that we would have made out if we had had the chance to be alone, but all that happened was a glorious back rub and falling asleep during the grudge in each others arms. That was the extent of it though. Then There was Jessie, he was from Arizona and he talked to me online, he was fun to flirt with but I was never that interested, so when he said he'd move to Utah so we could really date I had to cut things off, I think he's married now though so props to him. Then there was Mike Mcphie, he was once my best and dear friend, then he left to London on his mission. Then he got sent home for depression. Then I spent all my time with him. Then I wanted to date him. Then he said he felt the same way. Then he kissed a girl named Erika. So I got mad. Then he got mad. Then I got more mad. Then He manipulated my emotions. Then I'd do something completely stupid. Then he got in a car wreck. Then I sat with him at the ER until his family who adored me got there. Then he told me he would have rather had Erika there. And I got more mad. Eventually we ended up never speaking to each other again. That was unfortunate, but oh well he liked cats and hated dogs it never would have worked in the end. Then there is Josh Goodman he'd be perfect for me if we didn't have religion differences. It doesn't seem like a big deal but we both want different things and and are going different directions, and the only way anything could work is if we both get on the same page, but I mean isn't it selfish to require someone to change and it's my theory no one truly changes unless they change for themselves, I mean I can't make him change and He can't make me change we have to decide it for ourselves. But oh boy is he attractive and such a sweetheart. If things weren't so complicated I'd say he's the best guy for me, and I'd probably be pretty good for him too, but that's in a world where things aren't complicated and we'd want the same things. But I guess it's just wishful thinking. In the meantime he's probably my favorite person to text, and he keeps me sane while I listen patiently and happily to all the other love stories that are happening within my group of friends. I don't mind them, but at least having a guy that wants to talk about kissing me makes me feel less like a loser when I'm accidentally walking in on make-out sessh's or hearing about make-out sessh's I didn't walk in on or being the one single girl in the group this summer. Yep, Josh is a life saver not to mention really good looking and would be a good catch if he was catch able. I guess I'm a bit of a spiteful person, but when I had roommate problems I at least took pride that maybe I wasn't dating a bunch of so-so guys like they were but at least I got a date with a semi-famous Utah Celebrity because he plays with Off The Wall and is one of the main players. So not only is he good looking, he's popular, and funny, and he went on a date with me and liked my chicken. So yeah take that roommates, a hot man would love to be with me just even for awhile. Yep it's something I can be proud of!

Monday, May 3, 2010

My Dopplegangers

So me and my friend Liz find that there are so many people that look a like, I am constantly running into people that look just like someone I know, and of course there is finding the the movie stars that look like ourselves. I've been told I look like Lady Gaga...I think it's awesome!
Maybe not the best photo comparison but I dig it. I don't mind looking like Lady Gaga either, My friend Sheldon, Everytime he saw a t-shirt with Lady Gaga it would weird him out because he thought it was me on the t-shirt. All I can say is I'm flattered she is quite Awesome!!!