Monday, July 19, 2010

Improv, TV, and Stuff...

This weekend I got to go see Mission Improvible's opening show down at the Salt Rock Cafe in Ogden Utah. and all I can say is I love the new set up! At the beginning of the show, Josh Goodman recorded a top secret message to play, something along the lines of our mission is to make the audience laugh, if the players fail or fall flat on their face then they will be deleted from existence or something like that, then of course the mission impossible music kicks on and they come running out. Then instead of having the audience name the individual teams there is team control and team Kaos, at least I think it was control, but now that I'm thinking of it I do believe it was Spector. Anyway I love it! Then Josh was doing tech stuff, so maybe if I get more ideas on what we wanna do with The Antics, I'll also have another resource I can work with. Anyway I loved the feel of their new show and like always the players are very funny. But some of my troupe went down there and it kinda shows a little bit of Josh Goodman's theory he was telling me about. He told me he has a theory about improvisers either being academic or performance based, the academic side of improv is the artistic side, or that's how Josh put it. So I feel like my troupe The Antics is more on the artistic side, we're all about the scene work and emotional game, and the quote unquote "Rules" of Improv. Where the performance side of things is their goal is to put on a show and make the audience laugh, I feel like Mission Improvible is more on that side of things. They play up the gimmick of the games and will use real props if it's funny and the audience loves it. There's no right or wrong way of it either, just more of a style of improv.
Anyway, I've been watching Netflix a lot these days and watching just a lot of TV series that looks like it would be good. So as of late I've gotten addicted to Ghost adventures, so basically it's a show were these three crazy guys lock themselves in haunted places and investigate for a whole night. Now sometimes it's kinda lame and they don't get much but somethings they get crazy crap. Like this one episode I was watching with my sister and brother and Zak the guy in the middle is walking through a hall and he feels like someone grabs him, so then they all look at the camera feed he got and there is a shadow hand that comes out of the dark and grabs his shoulder. It's creeptastic. So I don't know how much I still buy into ghost though, but it's interesting to watch. It's one of those shows that makes you wonder what might be out there, and some weird stuff does happen at times. But it's a very addicting show. I think my favorite episode is still Linda Vista a haunted hospital they explore and they do get a lot of crazy weird stuff. Anyway I've been watching other TV shows as well. There's a show called Leverage, that one is way good, about a group of ex-thieves who team up with an ex-detective and they form this group that con's bad guys out of their money. It's a little like robin hood. It's very good and funny though I like it a lot. Then there is the IT crowed, it's a British sitcom and I think it's so funny. Basically two super geeks that work in the IT department and then their manager Jen who knows nothing about computers. Then their boss Douglas who is so funny!!! It's just a great time. So that's what I've been watching a lot these days. I've also watched the series Dexter, I'm on season three, but I haven't gotten there yet, but I'll get around to it. Then I've been watching arrested development but I don't think it's super funny. I think it's kinda boring actually the characters just do the same thing over and over and keep screwing each other over and there's no real development. Then I haven't watched the Office in ages but that's okay. Then I'm waiting on the last season of Lost to come out but I'm in no hurry. Liz watches Prison Break but I have no desire to watch it, especially since it's a more her and Jordan thing and I'm really not into "her and Jordan things" So I might watch it one day but idk if it will happen. Then as a group we're all watching My Name is Earl, it's a really funny show and we've all gotten hooked on it. We're somewhere in Season Two right now. So that's my gist on TV. Now onto Music. I forgot how much I love Evanescence. It was my favorite band way back in Junior high. My favorite CD ever was Fallen, and I listened to it almost everyday while soaking in the Tub. Well the other night I decided I need to unwind and relax a bit and so I went and ran the tub and went onto this website called groove shark, and basically you can listen to free music with out commercials online and so I had a bunch of Evanescence on the play list, and it was so good to hear! Amy Lee has one of the most enchanting female vocals I've ever heard. In fact this band has inspired a lot of my musical taste, and if I ever got the opportunity to start a band, I would probably stick to their style of grunge goth rock. It's very epic music and has in my opinion a wonderful balance of good hard rock and some beautiful vocals. So it was nice getting back in touch with an old friend so to say. Anyway onto something completely different, I am such a geek. I was bored at work and I stumbled upon a star wars wikipedia. It made me so happy. I actually spent a good half hour reading up on all the Sith Lord believes and set up. The dark side of the force is so cool. The sith believe that conflict makes you powerful and test your strength, also that it weeds out the week. Then there are Sith Atrai that roughly translates to Sith Lord, basically a perfect being that is capable of ruling. Then there is the rule of two where you have the Sith Master and the Apprentice, when the apprentice learns all they can from the Master they destroy them and take their place and find themselves an apprentice, basically this is another idea weed out the weak, and then also it keeps it more secretive and undetectable when there are only two. See how geeky I truly am. Anyway so as I'm doing all this reading I finally decided on what I should be for Halloween. I concluded that I'm going to be the Sith Master Maris Brood. She's a hardcore Sith and I love her outfit! Plus it shouldn't be to hard, go to DI find some Leather pants, I have one red light saber I'm sure I could get another one for a good deal. I could get a black wig and have my friend Sarah do the corn roll braids for me. The horns wouldn't be hard either, then just a touch of black lip stick white body paint, red color contacts, red and black eye shadow and I'd be rockin! So I think I'll be keepin my eye out for anything to contribute for my costume even though it's still 3 months away, but those 3 months will sneak up on you and if you're not prepared then you'll find yourself in quite a bind. But Speaking of Sith Lords, I do believe that next time I play with the Antics I'll be showcasing my new character which I'll be super excited about! Darth Connicus Sith Lord. She's pretty much my favorite one just because I'm SUCH a super star wars geek. Anyway I've been working on her and the fact that I will be able to read up more about the Sith Lords and their teachings will make her character even stronger. It's a more you know scenario I think. Well I guess I'll mention that I'm going on my date with Josh Goodman on Friday! I'm pretty darn excited I'm not gonna lie! He won't tell me what we're doing though, he's trying to keep it a surprise, which I find very cute and endearing, I find a lot of things that man does cute and endearing, like last night I was texting him as I drove through the canyon because I hate driving through there at night. There is a spot where it's just really open but it's so dark you can't see whats out there. So when I drive through there I always get scared that a Giant T-Rex is going to come out of no where and eat my car. I guess it's from watching Jurassic park at a young age, and that's what my mind comes up with when I see a big open dark spot where my car has to drive through. Yeah I'm a weirdo but it scares me! So anyway I'm expressing my concerns about this really irrational fear to Josh as I'm driving through and he said the most darling thing, that I'll have to give a little background to for it to make much sense, so here's the background on it. Josh does a character in Improv who's named Bruce, and Bruce turns into a raptor over an amount of time. So after I tell him I'm scared I'm gonna get eatten by a T-Rex he tells me "Don't worry He's hibernating because I'm a raptor and he wasn't at our usual meeting place today" For some reason I found that to be SO cute! I don't know why but things like that just make me smile. So I'm really getting excited for our date. I might talk to him in a few days and point out that we can text each other no problem and it's so easy for us to have a long and decent conversation. Then we see each other in person and it's like..."Um...Hi..." "Hi..." "How are you..." "Good...um...you?..." and it's just awkward, we should fix this on our little date of ours. Just a thought. But I'll you know take a break from textin him for the next few days just so when we do get to hang out we can have more to talk about and such, I might just mention the talking thing to him maybe on Thursday or before the date on Friday or you know whenevers. It should be great and glorious times though so I'm pretty psyched for it all to go down. What's funny is I have no idea what the date is, he says it's a surprise and won't even give me a hint. I asked him what kinda clothes and shoes to wear and all I got was "wear something fun and chill" and with the shoes "Tennis shoes" so I'll be in my sneakers and hopefully a darling outfit. I might go get my hair trimmed and layered some more on Friday since I have the whole day off. Which should be nice. Then I need to figure out a faster and not get stuck in traffic way to Ogden, because I-15 is torn up all through Willard, which is terrible! I got stuck in Willard for like an hour or so trying to get home to Tooele. It was no fun at all! I have decided as well that I just don't wanna get stuck in traffic right before my date because it will make me all hot and tired and sweaty and cranky, and I do not wanna show up for my date like that, it's just not appealing at all. So I think there is a way to get onto highway 89 straight into Ogden so I can avoid all the terrible traffic and I get the feeling that Friday it will be pretty darn busy come 6 o'clock. So I'll have to figure out how to get down there through the back roads. I'm sure there is a way to do it though. Well anyway that's just about everything I can think of to talk about. So I guess I'll just call it quits and go play Bejeweled for the remainder of work! Ciao!

No comments:

Post a Comment